Lent 2014: Goodbye Negativity!

Every year when Lent rolls around we are faced with a decision – which fattening or time consuming addiction are we going to give up this year? For me it has always been sweets or soda and needless to say it’s never lasted more than a couple of weeks. This year, however, I saw an article that inspired me to go a bit further. Sure, it’s great to give something up in order to help yourself lose a couple of unwanted pounds but I decided instead to do something to improve myself from within. With the support of my boyfriend and best friend, we chose to give up gossip & negativity. It may seem silly at first, and it did to me too, but even after just a couple of days I can see the difference. I had no idea how much negative energy was involved in a normal day until I decided to make this change.

Gossip:

As 20-somethings you would like to think that we don’t do this anymore. However, once you try to knock it out you realize just how bad of a habit it really is. Gossip isn’t what it used to be when we were in high school – “oh my God can you believe she’s wearing Aeropostale?” but it is certainly still toxic. This Lent, we are making an effort to see the good in people and to only open our mouths about another person if something positive is about to come out of them. Gossip isn’t always malicious or hurtful, but 9 out of 10 times it is something that doesn’t need to be said. As a result, I am finding that life can be much more positive if you look for the positive in others, which brings me to our next sacrifice.

Negativity:

Okay, this one was mostly directed at me. Especially at such a stressful time in my life with finding a job, worrying about money etc., I often get caught up in negativity. It is very easy to get into the habit of being negative about some things and sort of always seeing the glass as half-empty. I definitely don’t see myself as a constantly negative person, but there are definitely days or even weeks that I have a negative stress cloud hanging over my head. I can’t wait to get rid of this because I REALLY could use some sunshine! Just because it’s an easy habit to get into, however, doesn’t mean it’s an easy habit to break. This will definitely be a challenge but I’m excited to see how it will positively affect other areas of my life. Nearly everything…scratch that, everything I complain about is a serious first world problem and I need to cut that out. For real.

So I’m hoping that this season of Lent will have lasting effects. I don’t plan on going back to either of these habits as soon as Lent is over, which is just another perk. I won’t lie though, the biggest perk will probably be eating all of the sweets I want 🙂 

Leave a Reply

