Why We Love The Bachelor

It’s back!  The new season of The Bachelor has officially hit the televisions of millions of women (and men) and has brought Juan Pablo’s bilingual muscles with it.  We all look forward to this season after season- but why?  I don’t know about you, but by the end of every season I am so mentally and emotionally invested in these complete strangers that I can’t help but laugh at myself.  It really is ridiculous.

So what is it?  Is it Juan Pablo’s tan? Sean’s body? I know for sure it wasn’t Desiree’s constant waterworks…but something draws us in time and time again (17 times, to be exact).  Here’s a few reasons, in my opinion, that The Bachelor keeps us coming back for more.

1. Great looking people- whether it’s a season of 25 women and 1 man, or 25 men and 1 woman, you have to admit that there has never been anyone on the show that isn’t at least a certifiable 8.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a fan of Juan Pablo’s hair gel or the fact that he has a v-neck for every color of the rainbow, but I can admit that he’s pretty darn handsome.  And then we watch the girls come out of the limo and it seems like they get more and more PERFECT with every perfectly pedicured stiletto step they take. We love to look at good looking people.  It may not be the best thing for our confidence levels but man is it addicting.

2. The clothes- I’m not even going to talk about Juan Pablo’s clothes because I really just can’t with him.  I can’t.  But the gowns on the girls?!  They’re pretty much the only reason I’m watching this first episode because I’ve heard just about enough about friggen Camila Valentina (insert accent). I really wonder sometimes how much money these girls blow on clothes before coming on the show because there’s no way they all have these amazing wardrobes. Not to mention their perfect bodies.  I’m on my fourth sugar cookie of the night as I write this, by the way.

3. The dates- They’re so extreme.  Like…so unbelievably unrealistic.  But we buy into it every time and think to ourselves “ahh, some day some man will take me horseback riding on a private island to our awaiting champagne toast and candlelit dinner”. Gag me.  Whatever.  The dates all over the planet are ok I guess.

4. The drama- OBVIOUSLY. The best part. There’s always those one or two basket cases who the network is clearly keeping around for viewers.  We ignore this clear fact. Instead, we stare intently like “OH MY GOD SEAN HOW CAN YOU NOT SEE THAT SHE IS CLINICALLY INSANE!!” Newsflash.  He knows.  We don’t care though, it’s hysterical. 

5. Love- It’s so dumb, but so true.  We all watch it because regardless of whether we’re looking or not, we all love love.  There’s nothing better than the idea of finding love against all odds (not that being one man in a house of 27 women is any tough odds).  Regardless, we truly buy into the fact that each of the people on this ridiculous show deserves love and we want to watch them find it!  Is that so hard to understand, guys?
So ladies, don’t let the guys bring you down during these two hours of trashy television per week.  We’re completely justified in our love for The Bachelor and if they don’t like it, well maybe they should spend the two hours working on their Venezuelan accents.
Leave a Reply

