Clarification.

The amount of positive feedback I’ve received on the Victoria’s Secret post is overwhelming.  I never thought my blog would have thousands of views in one day because I really just do it for fun and for the people who have told me in the past that they enjoy reading it.  

However, I have also received a good amount of negative feedback.  Some from people who I never expected it from, some from people who barely know me, but mostly from people who LITERALLY don’t know me at all and God knows how they even came across my blog.  The internet is creepy like that.  Anyways, here’s a little bit about me for the random people who know nothing about me but still feel the need to pass PARAGRAPHS worth of judgement.

My name is Emily. Nice to meet you.  I am 21 years old, I am 5’5″ (which is ABOVE AVERAGE height, I won’t say abnormal because I might offend myself), and I weigh 115 pounds.  I am a 00.  I am an XS.  I DO NOT HATE SKINNY PEOPLE! I do not think skinny people should be ashamed of themselves.  I do not think that I have the “right to define what is normal”. And never, ever, ever, did I say either of those things.  I am a firm believer that everyone is entitled to their opinion, but at least make sure you know what the point is before you criticize it.

The point was not to say that skinny people should gain weight.  The point was not to say that skinny people are ugly.  If you’re naturally skinny or have become skinny in a healthy way, MORE POWER TO YA! The point was to say that people who are dissatisfied with their bodies should not take up unhealthy habits to look like Victoria’s Secret models.  Somehow, our society has managed to make us believe that everyone can and should look like these models.  We are so OBSESSED with body image.  Some of you nicely, and some of you not so nicely, pointed out that body image is not something we should be concerned with.  I agree. However, that doesn’t mean it should be ignored.  Telling a self conscious girl who wants to somehow grow 6 inches and lose 20 pounds in order to look like the models that they should just stop worrying about their body is frankly a waste of time.  I mean, I don’t know about you guys (because I don’t know most of you), but I can’t just snap my fingers and make someone forget about something that may dominate their thoughts day in and day out.  Maybe you can.  Again, I don’t know you.  However, giving them an alternative, a healthier way to gain confidence, is not out of line. 

Another thing my new cyber-friends don’t know about me is that I LIVE to make people happy.  I will go out of my way to help anyone and everyone and it truly makes me sad when others are unhappy. That is the reason behind THIS post.  I want you all to understand that I am not saying being skinny is a bad thing.  I am not saying that being skinny is abnormal. However, when you think about models, weighing 120 pounds or less when you are at least 5’9″  IS ABNORMAL. I’m not trying to define anything.  Ask a doctor.  Also, it is not a healthy figure to try to obtain when you are not naturally built this way.  I will not take that back.  

If you are naturally skinny and happy with your body, or naturally not skinny and happy with your body, I am SO happy for you.  Really, no sarcasm for once.  That is amazing.  And that satisfaction that you have with your body is exactly what I want for others.  I simply suggested a healthier alternative way to reach that sense of confidence that you all have. However, I hope they stop just before they become so confident that they can chastise people they don’t know for things they never said.

Sincerely, 
Your New Friend Emily.


 

Leave a Reply

