Give Thanks.

While I was sitting in traffic tonight on my way home from school, my mind continued to wander to all of the work I have to do and the finals I need to study for when I get back.  That’s when it hit me- all of that stuff isn’t what really matters this time of year.  We’re all thankful for this break from the madness, but there is so much more that should be at the forefront of our minds this week.  Thanksgiving is about just that- giving thanks.  It’s not about worrying about school, it’s not about what you’re going to wear at your unplanned and maybe unwanted inevitable high school reunion, and its DEFINITELY not about shopping.  So what are you thankful for? I’ll start.

I am thankful for my health.  I’m thankful for the health of my family and my friends.  I’m thankful for the love I am surrounded by.  I am thankful for all of the supportive people in my life.  I’m thankful for all of the unsupportive and unloving people in my life, as well.  I’m thankful for the roof over my head.  For the food in my stomach.  For the clothes on my back and exploding out of my closet.  I am thankful for my education and all of the opportunities it has brought and will continue to bring me.  I am thankful for the Red Sox winning the world series and for Tom Brady embarrassing Peyton Manning this week.  I am thankful for my ability to see all of the beauty the world has to offer.  I am thankful for buffalo chicken, for pizza, for Dr. Pepper, …and for my metabolism.  I’m thankful for the car that I drive and the job that gives me money to put gas in it (barely).  I am thankful for each and every one of you.

The list could go on and on, and it should.  So please, when you’re thinking about going out shopping this weekend or complaining about having nothing to wear- just take a second to be thankful for the things you already have.  Take a second to think about all of the people who don’t have half as much as you do and are thankful for it every day.  Take a second to think about the brave people serving our country overseas who are missing their loved ones.  Take a second to think about all of the employees in those stores that are forced to work on days that should be spent with family and friends. Be thankful.  Please please please be thankful.

And stuff your faces. Go Pats!

Leave a Reply

