The Day The World Stopped Turning

September 11th.  It comes every year.  Right after the 10th, right before the 12th.  We know it’s coming, yet for some of us, the emotions continue to hit us like a ton of bricks even after all these years.  Every year, I struggle with how to feel about this day.  My emotions range from sad to confused to happy about how we’ve rebuilt as a nation and angered by how far we have left to go.  I just can’t seem to make sense of it all.

I was only 9 years old on this day in 2001.  This alone blows my mind because the details of it are all still so clearly unclear.  I remember how confused I was…I didn’t have the slightest clue what to make of what was going on.  And here I am, in my senior year at the University of Massachusetts and I don’t think I’ve come any further in my understanding.  I can’t understand having so much hate in your heart that you would want to brutally murder thousands of people and devastate their loved ones beyond repair.  I can’t understand using these innocent lives to target an entire nation of unsuspecting parents who were left having to explain the unthinkable to their children, many of which, before this, knew no evil in the world.  I honestly, truly, cannot understand.

However, there are some things that I have learned in the past 12 years.  Over these years, the evil has not stopped.  It wouldn’t even be unreasonable to say that I haven’t gone a week without hearing bad news of some sort from somewhere around the world.  But there is one thing I know for sure.  Not ONE day has gone by where I haven’t been able to find some good in the world.  Whether it’s a friendly smile from a stranger on the way to class or work, or a text or call from a loved one “just because”, we are all pretty lucky.  

On September 11, 2001, not everyone was so lucky.  But this is September 11, 2013.

Never, never, NEVER forget that day.  Never let those poor innocent lives and the grief of their loved ones slip from your mind.  But today, open yourself up and allow some of the good in.  I am blessed.  You are blessed.  We are ALL blessed to even have this day to wonder about how we should feel.  So let yourself feel some good vibes.  Take in the sadness, the left over confusion, and reflect upon it.  Then let in the happiness.  For just this one day, try to leave out the politicians and the pointing of the finger.  Do something nice for someone today, just because.  Tell your loved ones you love them an extra time.  If not for them, if not for yourself, do it for those who didn’t get the chance on this day 12 years ago. 

9/11/2001- Never Forget.

One thought on “The Day The World Stopped Turning

Leave a Reply

